Eva Wins Jane Drew Prize
Eva Jiricna has been awarded the 2013 Jane Drew Prize for her outstanding contribution to the status of women in architecture. The jury was unanimous in its decision to award Jiricna the prize, describing her work as ‘incredibly influential’.

Zaha Hadid, prize judge and the winner of last year’s Jane Drew Prize (AJ 05.04.12), said Jiricna had ‘reinvented the idea of retail’ with her 1988 flagship store for the Joseph fashion label and praised her mentorship of students and colleagues.

Rafael Viñoly described her as an ‘extraordinary architect, but also an extraordinary person’, while fellow judge Ivan Harbour of Rogers Stirk Harbour + Partners said: ‘If you walk into any Apple store today, in the end, they all started with Eva.’

AHMM director Paul Monaghan added: ‘Her work has been incredibly influential and deserving of this important prize.’

Known for her glass and steel staircases, Czech-born Jiricna set up Eva Jiricna Architects in 1982 and her stellar career has seen her work with clients including Andersen Consulting, The Royal Academy of Arts and Selfridges.

Jiricna, who judged the inaugural Jane Drew Prize in 1998, said: ‘I feel very humbled and honoured to win this award. Jane Drew was one of my major heroines. When you are starting out you look at the lives of women in your and other professions. As you progress you appreciate what these women achieved – how courageous they were. Jane Drew was one of those women. She was a pioneer.’

In addition to Hadid, Viñoly Monaghan and Harbour, the 12-strong jury included: Martha Thorne, executive director of the Pritzker Architecture Prize; Moira Gemmill, design director at the V&A; Doreen Lawrence, founding director of the Stephen Lawrence Trust; Laura Lee, chief executive of Maggie’s Centres; Colette O’Shea, head of the London portfolio at Land Securities; Peter Rees, chief planning officer, City of London; Victoria Thornton, founding director of Open-City and chair Christine Murray, editor of the Architects’ Journal.

(AJ 7 March, 2013)



Jane Drew Prize


Honorary Doctorate, Royal College of Art


Honorary Doctorate for Lifetime Achievement, Tomas Bata University, Zlin


Honorary Doctor of Arts, De Montfort University, Leicester
Prince Philip Designers Prize for Outstanding Achievement - Nomination


Award for Life Long Contribution to Architecture, Czech Ministry of Culture
Honorary Degree, Doctorate of Technology, University of Bratislava


Honorary Degree, Doctor of Philosophy, University of Nottingham
Honorary Degree, Doctor of Philosophy, Metropolitan University London


Elected Honorary Fellow American Institute of Architects

2005 - 06

Design Review Panel Member for CABE
Trustee and Founder Member of London Open House
Advisor to Civic Trust National Awards Panel
Member of Royal Institute of British Architects’ Gold Medal Jury
Jury Chair for RIBA Regional Awards

2003 - 05

President of Architectural Association, London


Honorary Doctorate of Technology, Southampton
Institute Honorary Doctorate of Technology, Technical Institute of Brno, Czech Republic
Professor of Architecture & Design, University of Applied Arts, Prague
Honorary Degree, Doctor of Letters, University of Sheffield
Excellence Award for contribution to International Design (University of Guanajuato, Mexico)


Inducted into US Hall of Fame Interior Design


Elected as Academician to The Royal Academy of Arts Member of RA Council


Honorary Fellow, Royal Incorporation of Architects in Scotland


C.B.E (Commander of the British Empire) – awarded for Services to Interior Design


Honorary Fellow, Royal Society of Arts


Royal Designer for Industry


Honorary Fellow, Royal College of Art